5 Minute Mindfulness

As a new school year begins in what we know will be a challenging year following a challenging summer term, we are all keen to support the mental health and well being of our children and staff.

One way to support our school community is to develop mindfulness for all. Mindfulness skills are a number of strategies that allow the person to shift focus to the present and take control of how they react. The strategies are not a one size fits all. What will work for one person may not work for another person.

I had this in mind, as well as the lack of time teachers have in the classroom, when I put together the 5 Minute Mindfulness Calendar for the first part of Autumn Term for my school. The calendar, along with 5 minute videos teach basic mindfulness strategies to use in the classroom for both staff and class to learn and practice the strategies together everyday.

I know that many schools and teachers may find this useful and I want to share.

Here is the calendar I made for my school. However, there is no real need to start or finish on the same days I have on the calendar. The videos, which can be found here: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLp3WNwYP2umKrBYZ9Wn7ViFp9fUazpy_f , are identified as Day 1, Day 2, etc. (Be patient in the beginning as I will upload over the next few days and weeks.) So, as long as you follow the day sequence, all is well.

The strategies do not need any resources besides the video except for one.

I am happy for you to share this resource and videos and hope that it can support positive mental health and well being in your school.

I only ask that you feed back to me about how it is working for you, your class or your school.

Have a great school year everyone!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑