A Teacher’s Perspective of Mindfulness

design

Today’s blog is written by Dan, a dedicated Year 1 teacher. At the heart of his teaching is always giving the children what they need to be successful. 
As a teacher there are lots of people who can help you with your job. Admin staff, colleagues and even the children! However there is one job though that no-one else can do and it is the most important thing you can do in your working day. BE KIND TO YOUR MIND. What do I mean by this?

As teachers and just simply human beings our minds have never been so full of things – American presidential elections, parent requests, assessment deadlines, Brexit, planning, childcare, economic recoveries, marking as well as other school and family related duties. The danger is that our minds are becoming very noisy with all the events going on around us. By noisy I mean simply we are ending up in a situation where we don’t even know what we think about anything because our minds are so full!! We can’t even think and we are supposed to be teachers!

STOP. Enter mindfulness. Probably the most vaulable skill I’ve learnt in four years of teaching. Why? It’s had a massive impact on my performance in the classroom and most importantly at home as a dad and a husband. I feel very blessed and privileged to have a Principal who takes the mental well-being of her staff so seriously she gives up 15 minutes every morning before school to allow all staff to come and empty their noisy minds through a guided meditation which she leads. I’ve learnt missing it is not an option. Why? From my own reflections over the past 12 months those 15 minutes lead to greater productivity, increased calmness and significantly clearer thinking in the classroom environment. After our guided meditations I have 15 minutes before opening the door and welcoming the children in . During this time I often change plans or get new ideas because I have been able to stop and hear myself think. The noise has gone. My mind is no longer full. I am calm, happy and ready to face the challenges of the day – thankful, positive and smiling. I make an effort to show that smile as I open the door. It’s a simple equation – calm and happy teacher = happy and calm children.

I hold onto this mantra – the past is history, the future is a mystery, this moment is a gift which is why it’s the present. I tell myself it a lot because my only regret about mindfulness is that I didn’t discover it earlier on in my teaching career as it would saved a LOT of stress and I would have managed situations very differently probably. When I do this though I have to stop that thought because the past is history and the only thing that matters is the present. I need to remember to be kind to my mind.

Why don’t you try mindfulness this week in your school? I can’t think of a more important time for teachers and head teachers to use it on a daily basis in their schools. The demands of working in a school are ever increasing – mindfulness could be the key step your school takes in managing the stress and workload and most importantly ensuring your school is a calm and happy place. You know what the end result is of creating a calm and happy environment? Answer – happy children, and that at the end of the day is what we want to achieve more than anything else. There is nothing like the present moment – seize it! Go on – be kind to your mind – even just for 5 minutes!

Dan

Leave a Reply

